Why does Planet Python bork my WordPress links?

Dear Lazyweb,

Marius (and others) reported that Planet Python screws up the links on my articles.  Instead of a full link to the article, it instead does a href="".  Looking at my RSS feed, I see that it correctly has link>https://pauleveritt.wordpress.com/2009/07/15/kudos-to-malthe-for-chameleon/ in the item entries. My feed URL passes the validator test as well.

As you well know, Lazyweb, I switched to WordPress (hosted!) so I wouldn’t have to think, as I’m not very good at that particular trait.  Any ideas on the cause of this?

12 Responses to “Why does Planet Python bork my WordPress links?”

  1. snowwrite Says:

    I’m getting complaints that my titles don’t come through on Planet Plone. Not sure if that’s related but I moved my blog to word press hosted as well.

  2. Wyatt Baldwin Says:

    I’ve been seeing quite a bit of this lately on planet.python. It seemed to start after the official and unofficial PPs merged.

  3. Marius Gedminas Says:

    A very good question indeed! And you’re not the only one with this problem; IIRC Phillip von Weitershausen’s feed suffers from the very same problem.

    Looking at the RSS feed I see

    https://pauleveritt.wordpress.com/2009/07/22/why-does-planet-python-bork-my-wordpress-links/
    https://pauleveritt.wordpress.com/?p=45

    I wonder if that guid isPermalInk=”false” thing confuses Planet and makes it assume there’s no link available. Could be a bug in an old version of Planet? According to the page source, Planet Python is running Planet 2.0, which is quite old. (Unfortunately the authors of the software lost write access to the website and are unable to point people to newer versions. Or something like that. I think Planet Venus is the officially-designated successor.)

    Who maintains Planet Python? An upgrade of the software might be worth a try.

  4. Heikki Toivonen Says:

    It seems that if you read the planet through an RSS reader like Thunderbird, most titles read “(no subject)”. I’ve tried contacting PSF for that, but got no response.

    Additionally, many links to the blog post are also wrong, like tag://blogger,1999/ and the like.

    • Paul Boddie Says:

      Thunderbird is so awful at consuming RSS feeds (or Atom feeds, who knows?), I suspect that any problems I’ve reported to various bloggers have had more to do with Thunderbird’s inadequacies than any problems with the feeds concerned.

  5. Lennart Regebro Says:

    If I remember correctly, the fix is to use the Atom feed instead of RSS.

  6. Michael Foord Says:

    Hmm… sometimes redirects can cause this (were people change their feed URL and don’t tell us), but your feed URL is correctly configured in the Planet. Odd.

  7. Michael Foord Says:

    Looks like it’s fixed. Switching to the atom feed worked.

  8. Marius Gedminas Says:

    All fixed now. And the feed has the full post content now, awesome!

    I feel like it’s my birthday 🙂

    (Incidentally, I was also testing Google Chromium and suddenly it stopped accepting all keyboard input — other apps too. I immediately suspected a bug with a runaway X keyboard grab and spent 15 minutes killing and restarting chromium, until I finally realized the batteries in my wireless keyboard died in the middle of a word.)

  9. Eric Says:

    I’ve also noticed that Mike Pirnat’s Unified Python Planet, using Tarek Ziade’s Atomisator, removes (almost?) all posts with this problem. The ironic part is that Fetchez le Python suffers from the same problem.

Leave a Reply

